Jourdanton Community Library

Loading palette preview

Your Library Card

Getting a card, renewing materials, placing holds, etc.

Who can get a card
To get a Library card you must live in Atascosa County, Texas, have a Texas Driver's License or Texas ID with proof of current address. Children can get their own card as soon as they can legibly write their first and last name and anyone under 18 needs to have their parent or legal guardian come in with them to sign also.

How to Get Your Card
Visit the Jourdanton Library with your Texas Driver's License or Texas ID showing proof of your current address (in Atascosa County, Texas); fill out a patron card and we will give you a laminated card.

Borrowing Limits
For the first 3 months of acquiring your card, you will be able to check out 2 items at a time. After the first 3 months, you will be allowed up to 5 items. Books are checked out for 2 weeks at a time; Magazines are 1 week; Movies/Videos are 1 day, or over the weekend or holiday.

Placing Holds
You are able to reserve an item that we have available but is checked out, just give us the title and author of the book, along with your account number and name, and we will place it on reserve for you. When it comes in we will call you. You can reserve items by coming into the Library, or calling on the phone. (If you reserve online, we may not be aware of your reservation.)

Renewing Your Borrowed Items
Your are able to renew your items up to 2 times after initial check out. You can do this by coming into the Library or on the phone. Be sure to have your account number handy to make it easier. (New Arrivals are allowed renewals one time)

Library Fines
Fines are as follows: Books and Magazines are .05 cents each day they are overdue; Movies/Videos are .50 cents each day they are overdue. After they are overdue for 2 weeks your account will show that you owe for the price of the item. (After 1 week for Magazines) If the overdue item/s is/are returned then all that will be due is the fines. However, at anytime, if items are returned damaged, then you will be charged for the price of the item plus $2.00 processing fee.